Current Page:Home > About Us > History
History Aims JM Programme at NTU Greetings Former Director General Organization People

Brief Summary and Introduction of EUTW
For the purpose of encouraging studies of the European Union and academic and civil society exchanges and cooperation globally, the European Union (EU), in 1998, began establishing European Union Centres at prestigious universities in developed countries around the world. There are currently 32 such centres around the world: 10 are located in the USA, 5 are in Canada, 4 are in Japan and Korea, 3 are in Australia and Russia, while New Zealand, Taiwan and Singapore each hosts 1 centre. Despite variations in name, each centre is formed with a mandate from the European Union and not only acts as a platform for exchanges and cooperation within its host country, but also creates linkages among other such centres to establish global and regional networks to support EU Studies.

Work on making the EU Centre in Taiwan a reality began in early 2008 after the European Commission expressed its intention to create an office, and the Preparatory Committee of National Taiwan University (NTU) for the Creation of the EU Centre in Taiwan (EUTW) was immediately established. Members of the Preparatory Committee, including President Lee, Vice President Bau and Dean of International Affairs, Dr. Shen, made sincere efforts and eventually united several Taiwanese universities into a single consortium on September 22nd, 2008. The Consortium consists of NTU, National Chengchi University (NCCU), National Chung Hsing University (NCHU), Catholic Fu-Jen University (FJU), Tamkang University (TKU), National Sun Yat Sen University (NSYSU), and National Dong Hua University (NDHU). Acting as the lead institution of a consortium of seven major universities in Taiwan, the NTU proposed its plan, and signed the Grand Agreement with the European Commission on December 31st, 2008. The first phase of the plan will run for four years, from 2009 to 2012, to be funded by a total budget of 1.55 million Euros. The EU injected 1.1 million Euros, while the Consortium will provide the balance according to the agreed percentages. Under the terms of the agreement, the EUTW is located in NTU and an office for coordination and cooperation is situated at each consortium university. Governed by the Steering Committee as the highest authority, along with an advisory committee that provides advice, the Centre is managed by the Director General with the assistance of two Deputy Directors General and one Executive Director. The secretariat is composed of one Deputy Executive Director, one program coordinator and some part-time staff. Dr. Tzong-Ho Bau was the first Director General. The current Director General is Dr. Hungdah Su and Deputy Directors General are Dr. Tai-Lin Chang and Dr. Chwen-wen Chen. Mr. Chia-Ching Cheng serves as Executive Director and Ms. Heather Pai as Deputy Executive Director.


  • January: Establishment of the Preparatory Committee for the Creation of the EU Centre in Taiwan.
  • September 2nd : Creation of the EU Consortium Universities led by National Taiwan University (NTU).
  • December 31st : Institution of the EU Centre in Taiwan signed by the agreement between NTU and the European Commission.
  • April 15th : Founding of the Secretariat of EUTW.
  • May 22nd : Inauguration of the EUTW.
Contact | Privacy Policy | Information Security Policy | Map
Copyright © 2009 EUTW. All Rights Reserved
Used Microsoft Internet Explorer 5.0 1024*768
Address:No.1, Sec.4, Roosevelt Rd., Taipei 10617, Taiwan, R.O.C.
Location:Room 636, Social Sciences of NTU
Tel:+886-2-2365-3457  Fax:+886--2-2365-7930
This website has been funded with the assistance of the European Union.
The contents of this website are the sole responsibility of European Union Centre in Taiwan (EUTW) and can in no way be taken to reflect the views of the European Union.